El periodo postclásico Maya

Con este artículo finaliza un breve recorrido sobre los tres grandes períodos en que suele delimitarse la evolución pre hispánica de las culturas mayas. En inicio se abordó el período pre clásico (2,000-250 a.C.), ejemplificando sus cualidades en ciudades como El Mirador o Kaminaljuyú, luego el clásico (250 a.C. – 950 d.C.) y ahora corresponde el post clásico.



The Acropolis is an architectural set which housed the Kaminaljuyu’s elite. This archaeological site occupied much of 7 and 11 zones of the city, but has been gradually destroyed, there are currently several sheltered mounds, mainly in the...

Elaboración Propia

Mayan glyphs are signs engraved on a hard surface and represent the energy or strength of a person or some natural elements, they also tell the story about some very important event, (Chinchilla and Fahsen, 1991). In Mayan cosmology, glyphs refer...

The site of Chuwa Chuwa Nima Ab´Aj´ (Mixco Viejo), corresponding to the post-classical period of Mesoamerica is located in the northeastern sector of the Department of Chimaltenango in the Republic of Guatemala, it presents the...

The caves or the caves system were built for religious purposes, obeying the Mayan cosmogony as they were doors to the underworld. One of these is currently collapsed.

Elaboración Propia

Phrase: Treasures that hold the history of the Mayan civilization.

City Of TIkal

Source. This article is a reproduction of the article that presents the city of Tikal in the Tulán application, which is a mediated version of the...












Kaminaljuyu is located at Calzada San Juan 30 avenida zona 7, Guatemala City.


Blog description

Compartimos información de expertos sobre temas de Cultura Maya, incluyendo los arqueólogos de Tulán.